Friday, May 3, 2024

Mystery Writers of America Announces 2024 Edgar Award Winners

Mystery Writers of America announced the winners of the Edgar awards this week. The list is a great place to find new reads for your TBR pile. Congratulations to all of the winners. 

Best NovelFlags on the Bayou by James Lee Burke (Atlantic Monthly Press)

Best First Novel by an American Author: The Peacock and the Sparrow by I.S. Berry (Atria)

Best Paperback Original: Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q. Sutanto (Berkley)

Best Fact Crime: Crooked: The Roaring '20s Tale of a Corrupt Attorney General, a Crusading Senator, and the Birth of the American Political Scandal by Nathan Masters (Hachette)

Best Critical/Biopgraphical: Love Me Fierce in Danger: The Life of James Ellroy by Steven Powell (Bloomsbury Academic)

Best Short Story: Hallowed Ground by Linda Castillo (Minotaur)

Best Juvenile: The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto by Adrianna Cuevas (Farrar, Straus and Giroux BFYR)

Best Young Adult: Girl Forgotten by April Henry (Christy Ottaviano)

Best Television Episode Teleplay: Escape from Shit Mountain–Poker Face by Nora Zuckerman & Lilla Zuckerman (Peacock)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award: The Body in Cell Two by Kate HohlEllery Queen Mystery Magazine, May-June 2023 (Dell Magazines)

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award: Play the Fool by Lina Chern (Bantam)

The G.P. Putnam’s Sons Sue Grafton Memorial AwardAn Evil Heart by Linda Castillo (Minotaur)

The Lilian Jackson Braun Memorial Award: Glory Be by Danielle Arceneaux (Pegasus Crime)

Special Awards

Grand Master: Katherine Hall Page, R.L. Stine

Ellery Queen Award: Michaela Hamilton, Kensington Books

No comments:

Post a Comment